The town of Susa is located on the banks of the Dora Riparia and it has always been a stop-off place between the Passes of Moncenisio and Monginevro. It was annexed to the Roman Empire in 63 A.D., a period which is well documented: the cathedral, the house of the gentry and the church of San Francesco. The cathedral, dedicated to San Giusto, rises in a square of the same name and was founded in 1020 by Olderico Manfredi. It was given cathedral status in 1772. Its Romanesque structure has been restored various times, particularly in the Gothic period. On 5th August, the triptych of Bonifacio Rotario is brought out of this church along a religious procession in honour of Our Lady of the Rocciamelone. Along Via Fratelli Vallero, you will be able to admire the village of the gentry with ancient portals and medieval windows. The Church of San Francesco dates back to the XIII century, but it was abandoned at the end of 1800. According to the legend, San Francesco of Assisi, on his way to France, decided to stop at Susa and founded a church and a convent. In fact, a sleeve of the saint's habit was guarded here for a long time. Unfortunately, it was stolen during the Napoleonic period and has never been recovered. Of remarkable importance are  the Roman amphitheatre

of the II century A.D., the castle, that overlooks the town and house of the Town Museum, and the Arch of Augustus, erected in the 9-8 B.C., in honour of Emperor Augustus. It is still possible to observe the signs and prove the existence of the early human inhabitants. There are  also  some  fascinating to see,  cupel-shaped rocks.